top of page

About Diamond Grading 

 We make sure the diamonds we buy are rigorously graded by the four characteristics that are often referred to as the "Four C’s" of the diamond grading chart:

• Cut

• Color

• Clarity

• Carat Weight

This is a quick overview of the elements within the diamond grading chart. Of course, there are infinite possibilities of different combinations. After looking at hundreds of thousands of diamonds in our careers, we know that not all G color, SI1 clarity diamonds look alike. Each diamond has its own personality and value


In our opinion, the most important factor when it comes to the diamond grading chart. Cut evaluates the diamond cutter’s skill in the fashioning of the diamond, which determines how much it is going to sparkle. When we say cut, we are referring not only to the proportions of the diamond but also to the polish quality and overall symmetry. A diamond’s unique ability to manipulate light efficiently can only be released and maximized by cutting and polishing the diamond to an extremely high level of accuracy. Some diamonds are cut to look bigger than they really are, so they look very flat or lifeless. The opposite can occur when a diamond is cut to conserve the most amount of weight from the rough diamond—usually resulting in a very dark-looking diamond. We carry diamonds that are cut with just the right proportions to show off their most beautiful asset, sparkle, and fire. The quality of the cutting can affect the price of a diamond by up to 50 percent, so remember; there is a reason for one diamond to be less expensive than another even if the color and clarity are identical.


Most diamonds possess varying degrees of yellow or brown. Small, subtle differences in body color can make a substantial difference in value. In the diamond grading chart, the color scale starts at D (colorless) and goes down to Z (yellow). To accurately and consistently grade color, an American Gem Society experienced grader will utilize special lighting to compare the diamond being graded to a set of AGS Master Color Comparison Diamonds, which have met exacting standards of cut, color, clarity, and carat weight.


 In the diamond grading chart, clarity refers to inclusions, such as feathers or crystals, inside or on the surface of the diamond. The fewer inclusions or blemishes a diamond has, the more valuable. To locate these tiny characteristics, our gemologist will use a binocular microscope that magnifies the diamond ten times. Then, evaluating the size, location, nature, number, and color of all the inclusions and blemishes, a clarity grade will be assigned. Some keywords for the number of inclusions you would be able to see are minute (VVS), minor (VS), noticeable (SI), and obvious (I). The inclusions become eye visible at I1 and are a durability factor at I2 and I3


The standard used in the diamond grading chart to measure diamond weight is the carat. Each carat is divided into points with each point representing 1/100th of a carat. So, 50 points would be equal to one-half carat just like pennies to a dollar. While weight may be the least important of the four Cs in determining value, it may be the easiest of the four Cs to gauge accurately and is the most objective. As diamonds increase in size, their cost tends to increase exponentially. Thus, a one-carat diamond may cost more than twice as much as a one-half carat stone of equal quality.

bottom of page